SorrybutAVG

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

On consciousness-raising

Posted on 9:33 AM by Unknown
I've been making an effort in the past year or so to use the female pronoun whenever referring to a hypothetical person. There was recently a discussion about pronouns over at Crommunist (and by the way, if you aren't reading Crommie, start now!), and coincidentally the gender politics of pronouns came up twice yesterday at work... so I've been thinking about it quite a bit over the past several days.

One can make an argument that simply replacing the male pronoun with the female one when referring to a hypothetical person is not really any better. I think this opinion commits the fallacy of ignoring the broader social context, but after some recent contemplation I'm going to go one further: Even if it really isn't any better, it's still a worthwhile exercise simply as a matter of consciousness-raising.

If you're a man -- especially if you are a white heterosexual middle-class man like myself -- it can be difficult to put yourself in the shoes of a person who experiences institutionalized bias. I can abstractly recognize that it's a little messed up for the male pronoun to just be acknowledged as the default, but that doesn't tell me anything about how it feels. However, experiencing other people using the female pronoun as the default, especially when I am being asked to picture myself in the role of the hypothetical person they are referring to... well that's an eye-opener. It feels weird, doesn't it? I think a valuable piece of knowledge is gained when one viscerally experiences that weirdness for oneself.

I'm also certain I would not have spotted one of the incidents yesterday were it not for the effort I have been making to substitute my default pronoun. Two co-workers were explaining to me some work they have done that involves a collaboration with educators, primarily with elementary school teachers. I noticed every time they referred to a student, they said "he"; and every time they referred to a teacher, they said "she". Both did it, consistently, without exception. (I'm probably going to mention something about it to them today or tomorrow, but I've been mulling over how best to approach it without coming off as confrontational)

So even if female-as-default really is no better than male-as-default (and as I said, I don't think that's necessarily the case when viewed in a broader context), it's still a good exercise in consciousness-raising. If you haven't tried it, you ought, at least for a little while. It's, well, it's weird. And I guess that's the whole point, isn't it?

The title to a PZ post today helped me tie this together with another thing I've been thinking about: Whether some of the more confrontational secular holiday displays that have gone up are a good thing or not.

While these displays surely tell the truth, and while I am certainly not concerned about constantly policing tone in general, some of these displays don't exactly make me feel holiday cheer inside, y'know? In a perfect world, holiday displays would all be positive messages, and some of the secular ones going up clearly are not. Negative messages are often necessary when opposing injustice or changing the social zeitgeist, but at Christmas/Channukah/Solstice? It leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Yet I still felt like I supported the controversial displays anyway, even if I don't personally like them. And now I think I can articulate why: It's yet another exercise in consciousness-raising.

Yeah, these displays probably do make believers feel uncomfortable at a time when we as a society have traditionally tried to come together in mutual joy and generosity. But you know what? That's exactly how many non-Christians feel when an elaborate government-sponsored creche is on display to the exclusion of menorahs or Santa or anything else. That's exactly how many non-Christians feel when the War on Christmas people demand that Happy Holidays be expunged from our vocabulary in favor of an abject deference to Jesusmas. Like a man being asked to put himself in the place of a hypothetical person being referred to as a female, this asks Christians to momentarily slip into the shoes of a maligned minority, a minority whose holiday traditions are demeaned and devalued.

An eye for an eye is obviously not a good long term strategy, especially when we're talking about actual violence. But when we're talking about the possibility of maybe some mild discomfort and some hurt feelings, and when a big part of the problem is that the privileged group simply can't understand what it feels like to be in the out-group because they've never experienced it -- yeah, this is fair game.

Always using the female pronoun may not really be any better than always using the male pronoun. And an aggressively atheist holiday display may be no better than an aggressively Christian holiday display. But what both of these things do is make you think, to put yourself in the place of the other. That's what consciousness-raising is all about.
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to Facebook
Posted in atheism, christianity, feminism, politics, war on christmas | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • I win an argument with Dan Cooper!
    I won't bore anyone with the details, but I just totally whupped Dan Cooper (yes, that Dan Cooper) in an argument on Google+ . After I...
  • God takes sides in Survivor: Samoa
    My wife and I were watching Survivor: Samoa last night (yes, I kind of like that show) and a reward challenge involved a hilarious scene wh...
  • Ten New Ways to Piss Off God
    Found a new one today. Leviticus 21:18-20, while not explicitly condemning anyone, bars the following individuals from "approaching th...
  • I feel bad for George Zimmerman, I really do
    The latest news has George Zimmerman completely flipping out and ditching his lawyers, putting together a poorly-designed website 1 , and t...
  • About that Time cover...
    So yeah, everybody's seen it , right? A lot of my Facebook friends are nursing moms, a lot of them are AP moms, a few of them are even ...
  • The disastrous ethical consequences of the Atonement meme
    It has been pointed out by Hitchens and others that the idea of Jesus suffering and dying for our sins is not just repulsive because it...
  • Before, During, and After
    I don't usually blog much about home improvement , but I figured I ought to do a follow-up post to the one about venturing into the craw...
  • The Archdiocese of Washington and Pat Condell
    Earlier today I watched the newest Pat Condell rant by following the link at richarddawkins.net . Then later, I happened to stumble on thi...
  • I guess the Birthers were right all along
    Ah hah, here is the proof that Obama is not an American citizen after all! On a side note, take a gander at the ad for Carnation infant for...
  • Faith is Nihilism
    Bryan Fischer says that not exploiting fossil fuels to the absolute maximum is like rejecting a birthday present from Jesus, and that if we...

Categories

  • abortion
  • accomodationism
  • alternative medicine
  • apatheism
  • atheism
  • birther hilarity
  • bus ads
  • censorship
  • christian apologetics
  • christianity
  • civility
  • colbert
  • cooking
  • creationism
  • death
  • drinking
  • dualism
  • environment
  • evolution
  • facial hair
  • faith
  • feminism
  • file sharing
  • health care
  • hinduism
  • history
  • home improvement
  • intelligent design
  • islam
  • judaism
  • lgbt
  • local farming
  • lolcatz
  • math
  • misogyny
  • morality
  • mormonism
  • music
  • occupy
  • parenthood
  • peer review
  • philosophy
  • physics
  • politics
  • programming
  • racism
  • sikhism
  • skepticism
  • sustainable farming
  • trolls
  • vaccines
  • vegetarianism
  • video games
  • war on christmas

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (2)
    • ►  April (1)
    • ►  February (1)
  • ►  2012 (55)
    • ►  December (1)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (1)
    • ►  September (1)
    • ►  August (3)
    • ►  July (2)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (9)
    • ►  April (7)
    • ►  March (10)
    • ►  February (4)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ▼  2011 (72)
    • ▼  December (4)
      • Gender politics and Automoblox
      • On Hitchens: Oh how wrong he was... and how much w...
      • On consciousness-raising
      • That will be that
    • ►  November (7)
    • ►  October (2)
    • ►  September (4)
    • ►  August (4)
    • ►  July (4)
    • ►  June (1)
    • ►  May (3)
    • ►  April (6)
    • ►  March (17)
    • ►  February (10)
    • ►  January (10)
  • ►  2010 (106)
    • ►  December (7)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (10)
    • ►  September (11)
    • ►  August (15)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (5)
    • ►  April (14)
    • ►  March (10)
    • ►  February (5)
    • ►  January (8)
  • ►  2009 (171)
    • ►  December (10)
    • ►  November (5)
    • ►  October (19)
    • ►  September (26)
    • ►  August (38)
    • ►  July (52)
    • ►  June (21)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile