Wednesday, April 14, 2010
On the "Arrest the Pope!" thing...
Posted on 6:59 AM by Unknown
Just a very brief comment on this: I agree in part with those naysayers who maintain that it's a futile effort. But the attempt needs to be made anyway. For one thing, it's the right thing to do. For another thing, whatever excuse is made to prevent prosecuting the Pope for his role in the cover-up, that will expose a deep hypocrisy and a shocking injustice for all the world to see. It will force the ICC and/or the gov't of the UK to in essence say, "We don't prosecute the Pope, ever." If you can force them to come right out and say that, that's a victory for secularism -- after all, you can't have a public debate to change that which hasn't even been revealed. Dawkins' and Hitchens' effort may not succeed in bringing the Pope to justice, but it will allow a public conversation to take place that was impossible before.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment